10 ways I use my iphone in the classroom

Through out all of my career in not only at day care but any employment I have ever had. It was always listed in the staff hand book that phones were not permitted while on the clock. I’m just wondering what are your views after reading this post from Stephanie at traintheteacher.wordpress.com? Do you think that this is taking ICTs in the classroom too far and is unprofessional? Or is it the way of the future?

Teaching the Teacher

Hello my name is Stephanie and I’m an iphone addict.

I use my iphone in conferences, in meetings and *gasp* even in the classroom but I’m not using it to play angry birds.

Here’s 10 ways I use my iphone to make my teaching more effective:

1. Video – capturing learning as it happens

The main reason I got an iphone was for the video capabilities  I’ll often walk around my classroom with my phone capturing student learning. Video can be used for students to check in on what they actually did versus what they really did. For instance, do students give each other time to talk or do they butt into conversations? I will frequently  use interviews as an alternative for pencil and paper tests making assessment far less intrusive on the student.  Moreover video is an effective way to put friends, family and sometimes even parliamentarians right into our classroom…

View original post 945 more words

Scootle

Scootle is a ‘one stop shop’ that provides teachers with access to more than 20,000 digital curriculum resources in the National Digital Learning Resources Network which is managed by Education Services Australia (ESA). Scootle provides easy ways for teachers to find, organise and use the digital resources.

The digital resources available to teachers nationally include:
•interactive, multimedia resources
•audio, photo and video resources that result from partnerships with national private and public cultural and collection agencies
•open-ended tools for teachers and students to create learning resources
•interactive assessment resources
•work samples
•collections of curriculum resources
•teacher ideas and units of work.
These resources are easily selected and can be annotated with teachers’ comments and descriptions.This flexibility helps teachers meet the individual learning needs of each student.

Teachers can browse the Australian Curriculum at the content descriptions and elaborations level. The matching digital resources are quality assured and include activities for students, teacher support materials and interactive assessment resources.
Teachers can create collaborative learning paths that students can access within secure collaborative workspaces where they can:
•use secure chat facilities
•upload their own digital materials
•gather digital curriculum content from Scootle and add this to the space
•create a wiki-like response to teacher questions by adding their own text, re-ordering and editing the existing material in the space and posing their own questions and comments
•receive individual and group feedback from the teacher.

*Reference- http://www.esa.edu.au/projects/scootle