Week One Reflection

This week has been a slightly slower week for me then ‘O’ week as I did 99% of the week one’s learning path then, so this week I was mostly keeping up with the new blogs being posted to the Introduction forum and checking in on the blogs I am already following to see their new posts.

I had the opportunity to attend and contribute to my first Way Station Blackboard Collaborate session. I found it to be very informative and structured really well. I liked that David used the Google Doc for students to ask questions.

I had the honour of being mentioned and linked in Jackie’s Blog which was very wonderful! This can be found through this link- http://jlitwinczuk.wordpress.com/2013/07/20/web-log-blog/.

By Tessa from tessamiller10 at tessamiller10

And also by Katherine in her Blog Mrs D’s ICT Investigations at http://wp.me/p3JuVI-1g.

Katherine states in her Where am I situated with ICTs and Pedagogy? post:

“It has been very interesting to see how different teachers have handled the transition to a more technologically savvy school.  Some have been enthusiastic, and have taken any opportunities available to them.  Others have tried very hard and have found the transition difficult.  While others seem to dig their heels in and try to just avoid it wherever possible.” She then continues to say that she agrees with me (in my post which she had linked to on her blog) that some teachers may need to relearn how to learn…. “I suppose some of them must therefore be in the Inaction stage”. Reading this has helped me to build on my understanding as I was able to see it from a different perspective and also see a picture in my head from the real life example Katherine described.

I felt like it was doing ok within my Blog but seeing this has made me feel like I am on the right track and has inspired me to keep putting in the effort. As rewarding it is for me to see my Blog take shape, it seems to be helping others on their learning journey as well.

I re-blogged a post I found about using an iPhone in the classroom which created a great discussion between myself and Jackie. I commented that through out my working experience it was always against the rules to use your phone while at work despite the good advantages of it outlined in the article, then I asked is it taking ICTs in the classroom too far or is it the way of the future? My position originally was that it was unprofessional but as we discussed it and the more I thought about it my opinion developed to it being OK if it was acceptable by the school. Jackie agreed and stated

“Like you, my experience with having a phone at work was always that you weren’t allowed to access them during working hours. After reading Stephanie’s article I think that it is taking ICTs in the classroom. If the phone is used professionally then I don’t see it as a problem, I also think if the teacher who does use their phone should get permission by someone higher so they are aware that photos and videos are being taken.”

This week has effected my development as a teacher and user of ICTs for pedagogy by allowing me to familiarise myself with some of these new resources and built my confidence or trying new platforms and avenues.

Digital Concept Map

A concept map is a graphical representation of a student’s knowledge of a domain and constructing a concept map provides a way to expose, reflect on, deepen, and share your understanding. A concept map presents the relationships among a set of connected concepts and ideas. It is a tangible way to display how your mind  “sees” a particular topic.

Concept Maps can be used to:

  • to design a complex structure (long texts, hypermedia, large web sites, etc.);
  • to communicate complex ideas;
  • to aid learning by explicitly integrating new and old knowledge;
  • to assess understanding or diagnose misunderstanding.
  • to define processes and flows

The most typical concept is a map that contains:

  • concepts,
  • directed and labeled arcs.
  • In addition, concepts are presented in hierarchical manner, the most general concepts on top.

I thought Novak’s and Cañas’ concept map explaining concept maps was really clever-

600px-CmapAboutCmaps-medium

Image from here

This could be used in a classroom setting like in the following example demonstrated on How to Construct a Concept Map

In problem-based learning, each student group is like a party of explorers entering new territory. As a group they decide what neighboring areas they should reconnoiter, the individual members scout these areas and return to describe things they discovered that are relevant to the party’s interests. It is important in this process that the scouts know what they are looking for. In this effort, each member learns different things that get integrated and used to make decisions. Not all of the information will be transmitted to the others. When the expedition is over and the party needs to summarize their explorations, they draw a map that captures the important features of the territory. This would correspond to a PBL group constructing a concept map. The instructor or tutor serves as a native guide in this analogy.

Here is the link to the Concept Map I created to demonstrate reasons for using ICTs in teaching and learning- https://childsteachingjourney.wordpress.com/2013/07/20/digital-concept-map/

Reference- http://edutechwiki.unige.ch/en/Concept_map

http://www.udel.edu/chem/white/teaching/ConceptMap.html

Reasons

New-Mind-Map_2h7nsmm9

Mind Map created on https://bubbl.us/

Another reason thought of post creating this concept map… What is it that you have always wanted to accomplish in terms of educational goals that you couldn’t accomplish before? This could be answered with ICTs as it is forever changing and improving.
In the Australian Curriculum, students develop ICT capability as they learn to use ICT effectively and appropriately to access, create and communicate information and ideas, solve problems and work collaboratively in all learning areas at school, and in their lives beyond school. The capability involves students in learning to make the most of the digital technologies available to them, adapting to new ways of doing things as technologies evolve and limiting the risks to themselves and others in a digital environment.

What this means is that as students participate in learning, the will develop their capability to use ICTs as part of that learning. i.e. the learning they engage in should provide them with opportunities to use ICTs and develop their ICT capability.

This is important because

To participate in a knowledge-based economy and to be empowered within a technologically sophisticated society now and into the future, students need the knowledge, skills and confidence to make ICT work for them at school, at home, at work and in their communities.
Linking back to the idea of Digital Citizenship.

Students do this by

using ICT for tasks associated with information access and management, information creation and presentation, problem solving, decision making, communication, creative expression, and empirical reasoning. This includes conducting research, creating multimedia information products, analysing data, designing solutions to problems, controlling processes and devices, and supporting computation while working independently and in collaboration with others.

*Reference: http://usqstudydesk.usq.edu.au/m2/mod/book/view.php?id=153286&chapterid=6243