Week Three Reflection

I am at the tail end of the week three learning path on the study desk and must say that I am a tad scared now to  copy any images onto my Blogs etc. I used to think that pretty much anything on google images was ok to use, apparently not! I am still a tad unsure on what is ok and what isn’t as I found some of the information on licensing etc confusing. I did how ever find the Imagecodr – Attributing your CC Flickr images very helpful.

I thought it might be useful to include the link to http://www.smartcopying.edu.au/scw/go here for future reference. And this website http://creativecommons.org.au/learn-more/educators-resources also has some insightful information.

I think this information on top of the new theories introduced this week (TPACK and SAMR) has left me feeling a little overwhelmed but still I feel confident that my head is above water and this new information will sink in as I continue to use it and familiarise myself with it over the weekend and while I am working on my assignment one.

I must add though that this week felt a little less full on as the learning path seemed smaller, allowing me some time to work on my other neglected subject that I am supposed to be studying this semester and possibly the opportunity to make a start on some assignments… fingers crossed!

Teagan.

Flickr

Flickr is an image hosting and video hosting website, and web services suite. In addition to being a popular website for users to share and embed personal photographs, and effectively an online community, the service is widely used by photo researchers and by bloggers to host images that they embed in blogs and social media.

Photos and videos can be accessed from Flickr without the need to register an account but an account must be made in order to upload content onto the website. Registering an account also allows users to create a profile page containing photos and videos that the user has uploaded and also grants the ability to add another Flickr user as a contact. For mobile users, Flickr has official mobile apps for iOS, Android, PlayStation Vita, and Windows Phone operating systems.

Flickr asks photo submitters to organize images using tags (a form of metadata), which enable searchers to find images related to particular topics, such as place names or subject matter. Users also organize using clouds, which provide access to images tagged with the most popular keywords. Because of its support for tags, Flickr has been cited as a prime example of effective use of folksonomy.

Flickr provides both private and public image storage. A user uploading an image can set privacy controls that determine who can view the image. A photo can be flagged as either public or private.Groups are used as a way to communicate with fellow members of Flickr around common photography interests. Groups can be started by any member of Flickr. The creator of the Flickr group has the ability to monitor and set restrictions for the group. By choosing to follow groups, recent uploads of the group will sometimes appear on a user’s homepage when they log on.

This Blog Technology In Early Childhood used flickr along with another ICT Popplet to collect images of giraffs for a project to share their facts they had collected on their Blog. They used popplet as a way to “link to Flickr’s collection of creative commons pictures, making it easy to grab some giraffe pictures to go with our facts.  It only took me a few minutes to create a short little giraffe Popplet which combined all of our facts with fun giraffe pictures.” —Technology In Early

“On the Popplet website you can zoom in and out to see the pictures and text up close.  It’s a very simple, linear presentation. There’s a lot of room to go much deeper and more complex with Popplet.  Hopefully we’ll be able to spend more time with it and explore all it has to offer. When I’m logged in to Popplet, I’m actually able to click on the setting icon to put it into “presentation mode” (under the “view” tab) for a slide show.   That’s how we shared our Giraffe Popplet with the kids.” –Technology In Early Childhood

Reference-
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flickr

Technology In Early Childhood